Skip to content
scobert

Guide

How much does AI automation cost for a small business in Canada?

By Christopher Loubert, co-founder of Scobert. Published September 12, 2026.

As of September 2026, published examples from Ontario consulting firms put one AI or workflow automation build for a small business at about $1,500 to $25,000 CAD. Reviews, audits and training are priced separately and run from $497 per person to $5,000. Automation software adds about $0 to $30 USD a month at entry-level plans. Starting with one focused workflow keeps a first build toward the low end of the range. The examples are what four Ontario firms publish, not a market average.

Published automation prices from Ontario firms (September 2026)

The table below lists prices that four Ontario AI and automation firms publish on their own websites, checked on September 12, 2026. Builds are listed first, then reviews, audits and training, which are a different kind of purchase. All prices are in Canadian dollars unless marked.

FirmServicePublished pricePublished timeline
ScobertBuild: one workflow automation$1,500 to $4,000 CAD1 to 3 weeks
AdivorBuild: AI automation solutionsFrom $2,500 (currency not stated)2 to 4 weeks
Aurora DesignsBuild: custom automation$3,500 to $25,000 CAD2 to 6 weeks
ScobertReview: AI and automation review, optional, credited to the project$750 CADAbout 1 week
Toronto AI ConsultingReview: Deep Dive consultation, credited toward any build$750 CADNot listed
Aurora DesignsAudit: AI audit$5,000 CAD2 weeks
AdivorTraining: AI training workshop$497 per person (currency not stated)Same day

Sources: Scobert pricing, torontoaiconsulting.com, adivor.ca and aurora-designs.ca/services (page dated May 2026), all checked September 12, 2026.

The three parts of an automation budget

  1. Build cost. The one-time fee to map, build, test and hand over the automation. Build cost is the $1,500 to $25,000 CAD range in the table above. A review or audit before the build is optional and priced separately.
  2. Software cost. The monthly subscription for the automation tool and any AI service the automation calls.
  3. Upkeep. Occasional fixes when a connected app changes. Upkeep can be done in-house or covered by an optional support plan.

Automation software prices (September 2026)

ToolFree planEntry paid plan
ZapierYes, 100 tasks a monthProfessional, $19.99 USD a month billed annually or $29.99 USD monthly, from 750 tasks
MakeYes, up to 1,000 credits a monthCore, from $9 USD a month for 10,000 credits

Sources: zapier.com/pricing and make.com/en/pricing, checked September 12, 2026. Both vendors bill in US dollars.

What makes an automation cost more

  • More apps in the workflow. A two-app automation costs less than one that touches five systems.
  • Older software without a modern API, which needs workarounds.
  • AI steps that read documents or write replies, which need testing against real examples.
  • A process nobody has written down, which has to be mapped before it can be automated.

Where building it yourself wins

Building an automation yourself is the cheaper choice when the workflow connects two popular apps, the steps never change, and a mistake is easy to spot and fix. Zapier and Make both have free plans and templates for common workflows such as saving email attachments to cloud storage.

Hiring a consultant makes more sense when the workflow touches customer or financial data, connects three or more systems, or has to keep running while the owner is busy. See what a Scobert workflow automation includes at $1,500 to $4,000 CAD.

A quick way to check the payback

Take the hours a task uses each week, multiply by the hourly cost of the person doing it, and multiply by 48 working weeks. For example, a task that takes 4 hours a week at a $35 hourly cost uses $6,720 of time a year. If an automation removes 75% of that task, it saves $5,040 of time a year. With a $3,000 build and $360 a year in software, the first-year net saving is $1,680 before any upkeep. The example numbers are illustrative, not a result from a specific business.

Frequently asked questions

How much does AI automation cost for a small business in Canada?

As of September 2026, published examples from Ontario firms put one automation build between about $1,500 and $25,000 CAD, depending on how many systems it connects and how much custom logic it needs. Audits and training are priced separately, from $497 per person for a workshop to $5,000 for a two-week audit. Automation software adds roughly $0 to $30 USD a month at entry-level plans. A focused first build that connects two or three apps sits toward the low end of that range.

Is it cheaper to build automations yourself?

Yes, in cash. Zapier and Make both offer free plans, and a simple two-app automation can be built by an owner in an afternoon. Hiring a consultant costs more upfront but saves the owner time. When comparing consultants, ask whether error alerts and documentation are included.

What ongoing costs come with an automation?

Ongoing costs are the automation software subscription, any AI usage fees, and optional support. As of September 2026, Zapier Professional starts at $19.99 USD a month billed annually and Make lists paid plans from $9 USD a month. Support is optional and usually billed monthly or per request.

How do I know if an automation is worth the cost?

Multiply the hours the task takes each week by the hourly cost of the person doing it, then by 48 working weeks. Then estimate the share of that time the automation removes. If the yearly value of the time removed is higher than the build cost plus a year of software, AI fees and upkeep, the automation pays for itself within a year.

Last updated September 13, 2026

Start with one conversation.

Tell Scobert what takes up most of your week. You will get a clear, simple answer about what to fix first and what it would take.

Let's talk